Tattoos //

a free write I did during one of the poetry workshops I facilitated


 

got the sun tatted on my wrist
in the hopes that I never forget my pur-piss
piss poor that’s how a lot of my culture’s living
and it just sucks that to make an ends meat
you have to go through the most dangerous jungles
with poachers cloaked in white
lurking around every corner
in this world, it’s eat or be eaten
and dark meat seems to be the only thing on the market
yet folks is buying things to look like like how you look
but don’t want to be seen with you
don’t want to support you
if Shakespeare could’ve gotten his hands on this
guaranteed it’d be a best selling tragedy
so, I got the sun tatted on my wrist
and I’ve got “good vibes” on my arm
because sometimes you just need to remember
that things will all work out in the end
and if it hasn’t worked out
then it’s not the end

think higher//

Opinions?

